Is Baytex Energy / BTE Halal?
Baytex Energy Corp. (TSX: BTE), headquartered in Calgary, is a pure-play oil and natural gas producer — light oil in the Pembina Duvernay and Viking, heavy oil in Peace River/Peavine/Lloydminster in Alberta and Saskatchewan (its US Eagle Ford business was sold in December 2025). The business has no verified haram lines — and total debt of ~C$91.1 million is ~2.0% of the ~C$4.52 billion market cap, with net cash interest income of just ~0.12% of revenue. PASS.
The two-gate Shariah screen
Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).
Gate one: the business — passes
Baytex's operations are the acquisition, development, and production of crude oil and natural gas in Western Canada — light oil (Pembina Duvernay, Viking) and heavy oil (Peace River, Peavine, Lloydminster), producing light oil, heavy oil, condensate, NGLs, and natural gas. Its entire US business (Eagle Ford, Texas) was sold, with the sale closing in December 2025, leaving a Canada-only producer. No verified involvement in weapons/defence, gambling, alcohol, tobacco, pork or adult entertainment was found. Gate one: passes.
Gate two: the ratios — pass comfortably
The debt gate passes. As at June 30, 2026 (in Canadian dollars): the company's reported total debt is ~C$91.1 million (credit facilities C$0 + long-term notes ~C$91.1 million) — and Baytex holds net cash of ~C$566.3 million (cash ~C$720.3 million exceeds total debt), a position transformed by the December 2025 Eagle Ford sale. Market cap is about C$4.52 billion (~C$6.42 TSX close on September 29, 2026 × about 708.9 million shares) — putting total debt at ~2.0% of market cap, far below the ~33% ceiling. (Lease obligations were C$48.8 million at March 31, 2026 but are not disclosed in the Q2 release, so they are excluded from this same-period ratio.) The income gate passes. The Q2 2026 release reports net cash interest income of C$702 thousand against total sales net of blending of C$564,875 thousand — ~0.12% of revenue, far below the ~5% ceiling. Gate two: passes.
What other screeners say
Zoya maintains a BTE compliance page, but its auto-generated text contains contradictory statements (it asserts both compliant and non-compliant formulations), so no clean Zoya rating can be reported here. No Musaffa page or ShariaPortfolio coverage for BTE could be verified.
The bottom line
This screener gives Baytex Energy Corp. (TSX: BTE) a PASS. The pure-play oil-and-gas business has no verified haram lines, total debt is ~2.0% of market cap, and interest income is ~0.12% of revenue — both far below the ceilings. Snapshot dated September 29, 2026; re-checked quarterly after earnings.
The purification angle: even on a PASS, interest income of ~0.12% of revenue means a small non-compliant share — run the purification calculator to estimate it on any dividends or gains.
Frequently asked questions
Is Baytex Energy stock halal?
This screener gives Baytex Energy Corp. (TSX: BTE) a PASS. The Calgary oil-and-gas producer (light oil in the Pembina Duvernay and Viking, heavy oil in Peace River/Peavine/Lloydminster) has no verified haram business lines, and the ratios clear comfortably: total debt of ~C$91.1 million is about 2.0% of the ~C$4.52 billion market cap, and net cash interest income of C$702 thousand is about 0.12% of quarterly revenue.
What are Baytex Energy's debt and market-cap figures?
As at June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026, in Canadian dollars): the company's reported total debt is ~C$91.1 million (credit facilities C$0 + long-term notes ~C$91.1 million), and it holds net cash of ~C$566.3 million (cash ~C$720.3 million exceeds total debt). Market cap is about C$4.52 billion (~C$6.42 TSX close on September 29, 2026 × about 708.9 million shares). The debt-to-market-cap ratio is about 2.0% — far below the ~33% ceiling. Lease obligations were C$48.8 million at March 31, 2026 but are not disclosed in the Q2 release, so they are excluded from the same-period ratio.
Does Baytex Energy earn interest income?
Yes, a small amount. The Q2 2026 release reports net cash interest income of C$702 thousand against total sales net of blending of C$564,875 thousand — about 0.12% of revenue, far below the ~5% ceiling. The cash balance follows the December 2025 sale of Baytex's entire US Eagle Ford business.
Do any third-party screeners cover Baytex Energy?
Zoya maintains a BTE compliance page, but its auto-generated text contains contradictory statements (it asserts both compliant and non-compliant formulations), so no clean Zoya rating can be reported here. No Musaffa page or ShariaPortfolio coverage for BTE could be verified.
What could change Baytex Energy's halal screener?
Baytex's balance sheet changed dramatically with the Eagle Ford sale proceeds, so the debt picture could shift if the cash is redeployed into debt-funded acquisitions. A large debt-funded deal pushing debt-to-market-cap above roughly a third, or interest income rising above roughly 5% of revenue, would change the screen. This screener is a snapshot dated September 29, 2026 and is re-checked quarterly after earnings.