Is Canfor (CFP) halal?
Canfor Corporation (TSX: CFP) is an integrated forest-products company whose debt and lease liabilities of about 55.1% of market cap — well above the ~33% ceiling — mean it fails the debt gate: FAIL.
The two-gate Shariah screen
Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).
Gate one: the business — no haram lines identified
'Canfor is a leading integrated forest products company based in Vancouver, British Columbia,' producing primarily softwood lumber plus pulp and kraft paper, with mills in Canada, the US South, and Sweden (Vida Group). Its two reportable segments are lumber and pulp and paper. Since March 2026 it has owned 100% of Canfor Pulp Products (Q2 2026 interim financial statements, Note 1). No haram business segments are disclosed — there is no banking, insurance, alcohol, gambling, weapons, tobacco, or adult-entertainment business.
Gate two: the ratios — the debt gate fails decisively
At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 interim financial statements): operating loans of C$403.2 million, term debt of C$71.4 million plus the current portion of C$76.2 million, and a duty-deposits loan of C$342.2 million — interest-bearing debt of C$893.0 million — plus lease obligations of C$129.6 million. With 117,341,063 shares outstanding at C$15.81 (September 25, 2026), market cap is about C$1,855.2 million, so debt-to-market-cap is about 55.1% — well above the ~33% ceiling. It fails under every defensible debt definition: excluding the duty-deposits loan entirely, the ratio is still about 36.7%. The income ratio is null — interest income is not separately disclosed (the income statement reports only 'Finance expense, net' of C$31.2 million in Q2) — but it is moot because the debt failure alone is decisive. Cash and cash equivalents were C$234.7 million (~12.7% of market cap).
What other screeners say
None of Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio cover CFP — site-restricted searches of zoya.finance and musaffa.com returned zero results, and no ShariaPortfolio stock page for the ticker was located as of September 29, 2026. There is no third-party rating to cite; this screener rests on Canfor's own Q2 2026 filings.
The bottom line
This screener gives Canfor Corporation (TSX: CFP) a FAIL. Debt and lease liabilities of about 55.1% of market cap are decisively over the ~33% ceiling — on verified filing numbers, under every defensible debt definition and at any plausible recent share price. No haram business lines are disclosed; the failure is purely debt-driven. Snapshot dated September 29, 2026; re-checked quarterly after earnings.
Sources
Frequently asked questions
Is Canfor stock halal?
No — Canfor Corporation (TSX: CFP) fails the debt gate decisively. Interest-bearing debt plus lease liabilities of about C$1.023 billion are about 55.1% of its ~C$1.86 billion market cap — well above the ~33% ceiling. No haram business lines are disclosed. Interest income is not separately disclosed in the filings, but the debt failure alone is decisive — it fails even excluding the duty-deposits loan (36.7%). None of Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio cover CFP. Consult a qualified scholar.
What are Canfor's debt and market-cap figures?
At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 interim financial statements): operating loans of C$403.2 million, term debt of C$71.4 million plus the current portion of C$76.2 million, and a duty-deposits loan of C$342.2 million — interest-bearing debt of C$893.0 million — plus lease obligations of C$129.6 million. Market cap is about C$1,855.2 million (117,341,063 shares at C$15.81, September 25, 2026). Debt-to-market-cap is about 55.1% — well above the ~33% ceiling. Excluding the duty-deposits loan entirely, the ratio is still about 36.7%. Cash and cash equivalents were C$234.7 million (~12.7% of market cap).
How much interest income does Canfor earn?
Interest income is not separately disclosed — the income statement reports only 'Finance expense, net' (C$31.2 million in Q2 2026). For context, the cash flow statement shows C$0.6 million of 'interest income received' in Q2 2026, a cash measure not used in the screening. The income ratio is therefore null; it is moot because the debt failure alone is decisive.
What does Canfor do?
'Canfor is a leading integrated forest products company based in Vancouver, British Columbia,' producing primarily softwood lumber plus pulp and kraft paper, with mills in Canada, the US South, and Sweden (Vida Group). Its two reportable segments are lumber and pulp and paper. Since March 2026 it has owned 100% of Canfor Pulp Products (Q2 2026 interim financial statements, Note 1). No haram business lines are disclosed.
What do Zoya, Musaffa, and ShariaPortfolio say about CFP?
None of the three cover CFP: site-restricted searches of zoya.finance and musaffa.com returned zero results, and no ShariaPortfolio stock page for the ticker was located as of September 29, 2026. There is no third-party rating to cite for this stock — this screener rests on Canfor's own Q2 2026 filings.