NYSE Shariah screener · October 2026
Is Cardinal Health, Inc. (CAH) Halal?
Cardinal Health, Inc. · NYSE: CAH · Healthcare
The short answer
Yes -- Cardinal Health, Inc. (CAH) passes this Shariah stock screen on all three gates. Per its own FY2026 10-K, it is a global healthcare services and products company based in Dublin, Ohio, operating two segments -- Pharmaceutical and Specialty Solutions and Global Medical Products and Distribution -- with no non-compliant business activities (no conventional banking/lending/insurance, alcohol, gambling, pork, tobacco, or weapons), so the business screen passes. Its interest-bearing debt of $9,948M (balance-sheet debt of $8,886M including finance leases, plus $1,062M of operating lease liabilities) is about 18.59% of its ~$53.51B market cap ($230.09, latest close retrieved October 2, 2026), below the ~33% ceiling. Its only separately disclosed non-operating income line, Other (income)/expense, net of $31M, is about 0.01% of its $254,248M in total revenue, below the 5% non-compliant income ceiling; interest income is not separately stated in the filing. All three third-party screeners agree: Zoya indicates CAH is Shariah-compliant, Musaffa classifies it as halal (October 2026), and ShariaPortfolio calls it Shariah Compliant (5/5) -- honestly reported, not invented.
Gate 1 — Business activity: PASS
Cardinal Health, Inc. (NYSE: CAH), based in Dublin, Ohio, describes itself in its FY2026 10-K as a global healthcare services and products company providing customized solutions for hospitals, healthcare systems, pharmacies, ambulatory surgery centers, clinical laboratories, physician offices, and patients in the home. It reports two segments: Pharmaceutical and Specialty Solutions (branded and generic pharmaceutical distribution, specialty pharma, physician-practice management services) and Global Medical Products and Distribution (Cardinal Health branded medical, surgical, and laboratory products, plus supply chain services), with other units in radiopharmaceuticals, at-home medical supplies, and logistics. Business screen (factual, from the filing): none of the non-compliant activities -- conventional banking/lending/insurance, alcohol, gambling, pork, tobacco, weapons -- appear anywhere in its Item 1 business description or segment disclosures. Gate 1 passes. Facts only.
Gate 2 — Debt and cash: PASS
Per Cardinal Health's FY2026 10-K (fiscal year ended June 30, 2026), interest-bearing debt was $9,948M -- 'current portion of long-term obligations and other short-term borrowings' ($1,882M) plus 'long-term obligations, less current portion' ($7,004M), which already include finance lease obligations per the notes, plus $1,062M of operating lease liabilities (the task counts lease obligations; this matches the pipeline convention). Against a market cap of about $53.51B ($230.09 latest close retrieved October 2, 2026; 232,575,728 shares outstanding per the 10-K cover), debt divided by market cap is about 18.59%, below the ~33% ceiling. Excluding operating leases, the ratio is about 16.61% -- still comfortably under. Cash and cash equivalents of $4,856M are about 9.07% of market cap. Gate 2 passes. Facts only.
Gate 3 — Non-compliant income: PASS
Cardinal Health's FY2026 10-K income statement reports no separately disclosed interest income line; interest is netted inside 'Interest expense, net' of $348M, which is a net expense, not income. The only separately stated non-operating income line is 'Other (income)/expense, net' of $31M against total revenue of $254,248M -- about 0.01% of revenue, roughly four hundred times below the 5% non-compliant income ceiling. The filing also shows the company's finance-notes receivable book is only $28M, consistent with immaterial interest-type activity. Gate 3 passes, with the disclosure limitation stated. Facts only.
Key figures used
- Business: Cardinal Health, Inc. (Dublin, Ohio); global healthcare services and products; two segments -- Pharmaceutical and Specialty Solutions (branded/generic pharma distribution, specialty pharma, MSO platforms) and Global Medical Products and Distribution (Cardinal Health branded medical/surgical/lab products, supply chain services); other units: Nuclear and Precision Health Solutions, at-Home Solutions, OptiFreight Logistics
- Gate 1: no conventional banking/lending/insurance, alcohol, gambling, pork, tobacco, or weapons activity in the FY2026 10-K Item 1 business description or segments -- business screen passes
- Debt: $9,948M -- $1,882M current portion of long-term obligations and other short-term borrowings + $7,004M long-term obligations less current portion (finance leases already included per notes) + $1,062M operating lease liabilities -- debt / market cap = 18.59% of ~$53.51B, under the ~33% ceiling (16.61% without operating leases)
- Cash: $4,856M cash and equivalents = 9.07% of market cap (no separate short-term investments line; cash and equivalents includes marketable securities per the filing)
- Non-compliant income: 'Other (income)/expense, net' $31M (FY2026) vs total revenue $254,248M -- = 0.01% of revenue, under the 5% ceiling; no interest income line separately disclosed (netted in $348M net interest expense); finance notes receivable only $28M
- Market cap: $230.09 (latest close, retrieved Oct 2, 2026) x 232,575,728 shares outstanding (FY2026 10-K cover, at July 31, 2026) = ~$53.51B
- Zoya: indicates Shariah-compliant (assessment date blank, Oct 2026); Musaffa: halal (Oct 2026, AAOIFI); ShariaPortfolio: Shariah Compliant, passes 5/5 standards
- Result: PASS -- all three gates pass; disclosure caveat: interest income is not separately stated in the 10-K
Frequently asked questions
What does Cardinal Health do?
Cardinal Health, Inc. (NYSE: CAH), based in Dublin, Ohio, describes itself in its FY2026 10-K as a global healthcare services and products company providing customized solutions for hospitals, healthcare systems, pharmacies, ambulatory surgery centers, clinical laboratories, physician offices, and patients in the home. It reports two segments: Pharmaceutical and Specialty Solutions (branded and generic pharmaceutical distribution, specialty pharma, and physician-practice management services) and Global Medical Products and Distribution (Cardinal Health branded medical, surgical, and laboratory products plus supply chain services). Other operating units include Nuclear and Precision Health Solutions (radiopharmaceuticals), at-Home Solutions, and OptiFreight Logistics.
Why does Cardinal Health pass this Shariah stock screen?
Cardinal Health passes this screen on all three gates. Gate 1: its core business is pharmaceutical distribution and medical products manufacturing -- none of the non-compliant activities (conventional banking/lending/insurance, alcohol, gambling, pork, tobacco, weapons) appear in its FY2026 10-K Item 1 business description or segments. Gate 2: interest-bearing debt of $9,948M is about 18.59% of its ~$53.51B market cap, below the ~33% ceiling. Gate 3: the only separately disclosed non-operating income line, Other (income)/expense, net of $31M, is about 0.01% of $254,248M revenue, far below the 5% ceiling; interest income is not separately stated in the filing. This is a factual screen, not a religious ruling -- consult a qualified scholar for personal rulings.
What is Cardinal Health's interest-bearing debt ratio?
Per Cardinal Health's FY2026 10-K (fiscal year ended June 30, 2026), interest-bearing debt was $9,948M -- the balance-sheet lines 'current portion of long-term obligations and other short-term borrowings' ($1,882M) plus 'long-term obligations, less current portion' ($7,004M), which already include finance lease obligations per the notes, plus $1,062M of operating lease liabilities. Against a market cap of about $53.51B ($230.09 latest close retrieved October 2, 2026; 232,575,728 shares outstanding per the 10-K cover), debt divided by market cap is about 18.59% -- below the ~33% ceiling. Cash and cash equivalents of $4,856M are about 9.07% of market cap. Excluding operating leases, the ratio would be about 16.61% -- still comfortably under the ceiling.
What is Cardinal Health's non-compliant income ratio?
Cardinal Health's FY2026 10-K income statement does not separately disclose an interest income line; interest is netted inside 'Interest expense, net' of $348M (a net expense, not income). The only separately stated non-operating income line is 'Other (income)/expense, net' of $31M. Treating the entire $31M as non-compliant income against total revenue of $254,248M gives about 0.01% of revenue -- roughly four hundred times below the 5% non-compliant income ceiling. The company's small finance-notes receivable book ($28M) further shows interest-type activity is immaterial. Gate 3 passes, with the disclosure limitation noted. This is a factual screen, not a religious ruling.
Do Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio cover Cardinal Health?
Zoya covers CAH and indicates it is Shariah-compliant (the page's displayed assessment date was blank when accessed in October 2026) -- it does not rate CAH non-compliant. Musaffa covers CAH and classifies it as halal as of October 2026 under its AAOIFI methodology. ShariaPortfolio has a CAH screener page stating Cardinal Health Inc 'is Shariah Compliant' and 'passes 5/5 Shariah standards'. All three coverage statements are consistent with this page's own PASS outcome. This page applies the screen directly from Cardinal Health's own filings and reports these positions honestly.
Sources
- Cardinal Health -- FY2026 10-K (filed 2026-08-11; fiscal year ended June 30, 2026): Form 10-K cover (NYSE listing; 232,575,728 shares outstanding at July 31, 2026), Business/Item 1 (global healthcare services and products; Pharma and GMPD segments), consolidated balance sheet (cash $4,856M; debt lines $1,882M + $7,004M; operating lease liabilities $1,062M), income statement (revenue $254,248M; other (income)/expense, net $31M; interest expense, net $348M)
- Finnhub -- CAH market data ($230.09 latest close, ~$51.26B market cap, XNYS listing; retrieved Oct 2, 2026)
- Zoya -- Cardinal Health (CAH) stock page (indicates Shariah-compliant; assessment date blank when accessed Oct 2026; interest income recorded as $0)
- Musaffa -- Cardinal Health Inc (CAH) stock page (status: halal, October 2026, AAOIFI methodology)
- ShariaPortfolio -- CAH Cardinal Health Inc screener page (status: Shariah Compliant, passes 5/5 Shariah standards)
Screened 2026-10-02 from published company figures and market data. Figures change; this page is educational, not financial advice and not a religious ruling.
Screened with our two-gate Shariah screening methodology (business-activity gate, then AAOIFI-style financial ratios).