Screened September 29, 2026 · TSX: EFX (NYSE: EFXT) · Q2 2026 filings · Provisional (third-party divergence)

PASS*

Is Enerflex (EFX) halal?

Enerflex Ltd. (TSX: EFX) is a Calgary-based energy-infrastructure provider whose ratio math clears both AAOIFI-style ceilings — but Musaffa currently classifies it as not halal, making this a provisional PASS*.

The two-gate Shariah screen

Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).

Gate one: the business — no haram lines identified

Enerflex is 'a leading provider of modular natural gas, power technology and treated water solutions' (Q2 2026 results news release, August 6, 2026), with about 4,400 employees and headquarters in Calgary. Its three product lines (Note 10, Segmented Information) are: Engineered Systems — manufacturing compression, processing, and power equipment; Energy Infrastructure — contract compression fleet, gas processing, and distributed power generation; and After-Market Services — parts and maintenance. Q2 2026 revenue was US$582 million (ES US$300 million, EI US$148 million, AMS US$134 million), spanning the US, Canada, Argentina, Oman, Nigeria, Mexico, Australia, Brazil, Bahrain, and Iraq. The filings disclose no alcohol, gambling, conventional-lending/insurance, or other haram lines. This is an energy-equipment-and-services company, not a producer; scholars differ on upstream oil-and-gas exposure in general, but no haram segment was identified in the filings.

Gate two: the ratios — both ceilings clear on our inputs — but a third-party screener disagrees

At June 30, 2026 (unaudited Q2 2026 interim statements; figures in USD): interest-bearing debt of US$529 million (carrying value, Note 7 'Long-Term Debt') — US$400 million of 2031 senior unsecured notes at 6.875% (maturing January 15, 2031) plus US$140 million drawn on the syndicated secured revolving credit facility (US$800 million limit, due June 30, 2029), less US$11 million of deferred transaction costs. Cash and equivalents were US$74 million (net debt US$455 million). With 122.1 million shares at the September 25, 2026 close of C$33.36, market cap is about C$4.07 billion; the debt converts to about C$750 million at ~C$1.42 per US$1, so debt-to-market-cap is about 18.4% — under the ~33% ceiling. Interest income of US$1 million (Note 11, 'Finance Costs and Income') against H1 2026 revenue of US$1,166 million is about 0.09%, well under the ~5% ceiling (Q2 2026 interest income was US$0 against US$582 million of revenue). Note: TSX trades under EFX; the NYSE listing trades under EFXT.

What other screeners say

Musaffa classifies Enerflex Ltd (EFXT) as 'not halal' as of September 2026 under its stated AAOIFI methodology, but its stock page does not disclose which business-activity line or ratio threshold fails. We could not verify any current Zoya rating for Enerflex (Zoya's public EFX page is Equifax — a different company — and its EFXT pattern returned nothing) or any ShariaPortfolio per-stock rating. Because the ratio math clears on our inputs while a third-party screener disagrees, this screener is provisional (PASS*): disclose the divergence, and consult a qualified scholar.

The bottom line

This screener gives Enerflex Ltd. (TSX: EFX) a provisional PASS (PASS*). The ratio math clears on our inputs — about 18.4% debt-to-market-cap and about 0.09% interest income of revenue — but Musaffa currently classifies EFXT as not halal under its AAOIFI methodology without disclosing which metric fails, so this screener is provisional: treat it as a flag to consult a qualified scholar. Snapshot dated September 29, 2026; re-checked quarterly after earnings.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Is Enerflex stock halal?

Provisionally, yes — Enerflex Ltd. (TSX: EFX) passes both AAOIFI-style ratio gates on our inputs: about 18.4% debt-to-market-cap and about 0.09% interest income of revenue in H1 2026. But Musaffa currently classifies EFXT as not halal under its AAOIFI methodology without disclosing which metric fails, so this is a provisional PASS* — the ratio math clears on our inputs, a third-party screener disagrees, and you should consult a qualified scholar.

What are Enerflex's debt and market-cap figures?

At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 interim statements; figures in USD): interest-bearing debt of US$529 million (carrying value) — US$400 million of 2031 senior unsecured notes at 6.875% plus US$140 million drawn on the syndicated secured revolving credit facility, less US$11 million of deferred transaction costs. Cash was US$74 million (net debt US$455 million). Market cap is about C$4.07 billion (C$33.36, September 25, 2026 close × 122.1 million shares). Debt of ~C$750 million (at ~C$1.42 per US$1) is about 18.4% of market cap — under the ~33% ceiling.

How much interest income does Enerflex earn?

In H1 2026 (six months ended June 30, 2026), Enerflex disclosed interest income of US$1 million against revenue of US$1,166 million (Note 11, 'Finance Costs and Income') — about 0.09%, well under the roughly 5% ceiling. Q2 2026 interest income was US$0 million against US$582 million of revenue. The company is a net payer of interest (US$12 million of finance costs in Q2 2026), but the screening income ratio is about income, which is negligible.

What does Enerflex do?

Enerflex is 'a leading provider of modular natural gas, power technology and treated water solutions' (Q2 2026 results, August 6, 2026), with about 4,400 employees and headquarters in Calgary. Its three product lines are Engineered Systems (manufacturing compression, processing, and power equipment), Energy Infrastructure (contract compression fleet, gas processing, distributed power generation), and After-Market Services (parts and maintenance). Q2 2026 revenue was US$582 million across the US, Canada, Argentina, Oman, Nigeria, Mexico, Australia, Brazil, Bahrain, and Iraq. The filings disclose no haram segments.

What do Zoya, Musaffa, and ShariaPortfolio say about EFX?

Musaffa classifies Enerflex (EFXT) as 'not halal' as of September 2026 under its AAOIFI methodology, but does not disclose which ratio or threshold fails. We could not verify any current Zoya rating for Enerflex (Zoya's public EFX page is Equifax, a different company) or any ShariaPortfolio per-stock rating. Because the ratio math clears on our inputs but a third-party screener disagrees, this screener is provisional (PASS*).