NASDAQ Shariah screener · October 2026

Is Expedia Group, Inc. (EXPE) Halal?

PASS

Expedia Group, Inc. · NASDAQ: EXPE · Consumer Discretionary

The short answer

Yes - Expedia Group, Inc. (EXPE) passes this Shariah stock screen on all three gates. The business is the global travel marketplace (B2C: Expedia, Hotels.com, Vrbo; B2B travel technology; trivago), with no haram segments disclosed in its FY2025 10-K (filed February 13, 2026) - 'casino' does not appear in the filing; it distributes stays at casino resorts but operates none. Interest-bearing debt of $6,161M is about 19.6% of its ~$31.4B market cap ($262.67 latest quote, October 2, 2026), below the ~33% ceiling. Interest income of $255M - separately disclosed in the 10-K - is about 1.73% of total revenue ($14,733M), below the 5% ceiling. Note: Zoya classifies EXPE as not Shariah-compliant (September 2026) and Musaffa rates it 'NOT HALAL' (October 2026) - reported honestly as differing third-party positions; no ShariaPortfolio rating was found.

Gate 1 — Business activity: PASS

Expedia Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: EXPE) is 'the global travel marketplace' - per the FY2025 10-K Item 1 - with three segments: B2C (Expedia, Hotels.com, Vrbo: lodging, air, packages, car rentals, cruises, travel insurance, activities, advertising), B2B (travel technology for airlines, travel agents, retailers, corporate travel, financial institutions), and trivago (hotel metasearch advertising), with ~3.6M lodging properties at end-2025. Haram flags checked (factual, from the filings): the 10-K discloses no alcohol, gambling operations, tobacco, weapons, pork, or interest-based lending businesses - 'casino' does not appear in the filing. Nuances: Expedia sells stays at casino-resort properties as a distributor but operates no casinos, and travel insurance is sold as an intermediary product, not underwritten. Gate 1 passes on the filings. Facts only.

Gate 2 — Debt and cash: PASS

Per Expedia's FY2025 10-K (year ended December 31, 2025, filed February 13, 2026), interest-bearing debt was $6,161M - current maturities of long-term debt $1,692M plus long-term debt $4,469M on the balance sheet. Against a market cap of about $31.4B ($262.67 latest quote, October 2, 2026), debt / market cap is about 19.6%, below the ~33% ceiling. Cash and cash equivalents of $5,413M plus restricted cash of $1,563M ($6,976M combined) are about 22.2% of market cap. Gate 2 passes. Facts only.

Gate 3 — Non-compliant income: PASS

Expedia's FY2025 10-K discloses interest income of $255M as a separate line ('Other income (expense): Interest income') against total revenue of $14,733M - about 1.73% of revenue, well below the 5% non-compliant income ceiling (MD&A: $255M vs $235M in 2024 vs $207M in 2023, driven by higher cash balances). Gate 3 passes on a directly disclosed figure. Facts only.

Key figures used

Frequently asked questions

What does Expedia Group do?

Expedia Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: EXPE) calls itself 'the global travel marketplace.' Per the FY2025 10-K, it has three segments: B2C (flagship brands Expedia, Hotels.com, and Vrbo - lodging, air, packages, car rentals, cruises, travel insurance, activities, advertising), B2B (travel technology for airlines, travel agents, retailers, corporate travel, financial institutions), and trivago (hotel metasearch advertising). It offered ~3.6M lodging properties at end-2025. The 10-K discloses no alcohol, gambling operations, tobacco, weapons, pork, or interest-based lending businesses - 'casino' does not appear in the filing. Two factual nuances: it sells stays at casino-resort properties as a distributor but does not operate casinos, and travel insurance is sold as an intermediary product, not underwritten.

Why does Expedia Group pass this Shariah stock screen?

Expedia Group passes all three gates from its own filings. Gate 1: the business is online travel booking (B2C, B2B, trivago) - no haram segments are disclosed in the FY2025 10-K ('casino' does not appear in the filing; it distributes stays at casino resorts but operates none). Gate 2: interest-bearing debt of $6,161M is about 19.6% of its ~$31.4B market cap ($262.67 latest quote, October 2, 2026), below the ~33% ceiling. Gate 3: separately disclosed interest income of $255M is about 1.73% of total revenue ($14,733M, FY2025), below the 5% ceiling. Note: Zoya and Musaffa both classify EXPE as not Shariah-compliant (reasons undisclosed) - reported honestly as differing third-party positions. This is a factual screen, not a religious ruling - consult a qualified scholar for personal rulings.

What is Expedia Group's interest-bearing debt ratio?

Per Expedia's FY2025 10-K (year ended December 31, 2025, filed February 13, 2026), interest-bearing debt was $6,161M - current maturities of long-term debt $1,692M plus long-term debt $4,469M on the balance sheet. Against a market cap of about $31.4B ($262.67 latest quote on October 2, 2026), debt / market cap is about 19.6% - below the ~33% ceiling. Cash and cash equivalents of $5,413M plus restricted cash of $1,563M ($6,976M combined) are about 22.2% of market cap. Gate 2 passes.

What is Expedia Group's non-compliant income ratio?

Expedia's FY2025 10-K discloses interest income of $255M as a separate line ('Other income (expense): Interest income'), against total revenue of $14,733M - about 1.73% of revenue, well below the 5% non-compliant income ceiling. MD&A confirms $255M vs $235M in 2024 vs $207M in 2023, driven by higher cash balances. Gate 3 passes on a directly disclosed figure.

Do Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio cover Expedia Group?

Zoya covers EXPE and classifies it as not Shariah-compliant as of September 2026 (failing ratio not disclosed; Zoya's own $255M interest-income figure matches the 10-K). Musaffa covers EXPE and classifies it 'NOT HALAL' as of October 2026 (AAOIFI methodology; reason not disclosed on the page). No ShariaPortfolio screening page or rating for EXPE was found - reported as absent, not invented. These differing third-party positions are reported honestly; this page applies the screen directly from Expedia's own SEC filings.

Sources

Screened 2026-10-02 from published company figures and market data. Figures change; this page is educational, not financial advice and not a religious ruling.