Is Labrador Iron Ore Royalty (LIF) halal?
Labrador Iron Ore Royalty (TSX: LIF) gets a PASS: the iron-ore royalty business is clean, the company is debt-free (0.00% of market cap), and interest and other income is only ~0.35% of revenue — far under the ~5% ceiling.
The two-gate Shariah screen
Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).
Gate one: the business — PASSED
Labrador Iron Ore Royalty Corporation (TSX: LIF) holds, directly and through wholly-owned subsidiary Hollinger-Hanna, a 15.10% equity interest in the Iron Ore Company of Canada (IOC, operated by Rio Tinto at 58.72% with Mitsubishi at 26.18%), a 7% gross overriding royalty on all iron ore products produced, sold and shipped by IOC, and a C$0.10-per-tonne commission on IOC production, plus about 18,200 hectares of mining leases and licences near Labrador City. Revenue is 100% derived from iron ore royalties, commissions, and IOC equity earnings (company Q2 2026 results, quarter ended June 30, 2026). A 20% Newfoundland royalty tax is deducted from the royalty stream. None of the standard AAOIFI prohibited business activities (conventional banking and insurance, alcohol, gambling, weapons, pork, tobacco, adult entertainment) are part of LIORC operations, so the business-activity gate passes. Facts only, no fatwa.
Gate two: the ratios — PASSED
The ratios gate passes on all three checks. Debt: management states in the Q2 2026 release that LIORC is debt-free - the Q1 2026 balance sheet shows liabilities of only accounts payable (C$7.5M), dividend payable (C$19.2M) and deferred tax (C$131.5M), with no borrowings - so debt is C$0, or 0.00% of the ~C$1.53B market cap (64,000,000 shares x C$23.93, September 29, 2026 market data), far under the ~33% ceiling. Cash of C$13.7M at June 30, 2026 (per a kalkine.ca summary of the Q2 2026 balance sheet; the primary Q1 figure was C$15.3M) is about 0.89% of market cap. Income: combined interest and other income was C$120k on revenue of C$34,085k in Q2 2026 - about 0.35%, under the ~5% ceiling - and C$647k on C$166,527k of revenue in FY2025 (~0.39%). Pure interest income is not disclosed separately, so the combined line is used as a conservative proxy; even so it sits at one-fourteenth of the ceiling. All figures recomputed from the cited sources; LIORC reports in Canadian dollars.
What other screeners say
Third-party coverage is absent from public view: no public Zoya rating for LIF was found (Zoya ratings live inside its app and are not indexed on the public web), no indexed Musaffa page covers LIF, and ShariaPortfolio public screener (powered by third-party MuslimXchange) publishes no per-stock LIF rating. The PASS recorded here rests on the ratios computed from the company filings and market data above.
The bottom line
Labrador Iron Ore Royalty (LIF) is a PASS: the iron-ore royalty and equity business clears the activity gate, the company carries zero interest-bearing debt (management states it is debt-free), and combined interest and other income is about 0.35% of Q2 2026 revenue (~0.39% for FY2025) - far under the ~5% ceiling. As with every screener here, this is a rules-based screening of published figures, not a religious ruling - consult a qualified scholar for personal guidance.
Sources
- LIORC Q2 2026 results (investingnews.com, quarter ended June 30, 2026)
- LIORC Q1 2026 results and balance sheet (marketwirenews)
- LIORC 2025 annual results (advfn)
- LIORC Q2 2026 balance sheet summary - cash figure (kalkine.ca)
- LIF share price, September 29, 2026 (kalkinemedia)
Frequently asked questions
Is Labrador Iron Ore Royalty stock halal?
Based on this screener AAOIFI-style checks, Labrador Iron Ore Royalty passes: its iron-ore royalty business clears the activity gate, it carries zero interest-bearing debt, and combined interest and other income is only about 0.35% of Q2 2026 revenue, under the ~5% ceiling. This is a screening result, not investment advice or a religious ruling.
How much debt does Labrador Iron Ore Royalty have relative to its market value?
Essentially none: LIORC carries zero interest-bearing debt - management states the company is debt-free in the Q2 2026 release - so debt is 0.00% of its ~C$1.53B market cap (64,000,000 shares x C$23.93, September 2026), far under the ~33% ceiling. Reported liabilities are only accounts payable, dividend payable, and deferred tax.
Does Labrador Iron Ore Royalty earn interest income?
A small amount: C$120,000 of combined interest and other income on C$34,085,000 of revenue in Q2 2026, about 0.35% - under the ~5% ceiling. For FY2025 the same combined line was C$647,000 on C$166,527,000 of revenue, about 0.39%. Pure interest income is not disclosed separately, so the combined figure is used as a conservative proxy.
What does Labrador Iron Ore Royalty do?
Labrador Iron Ore Royalty Corporation (TSX: LIF) is an iron ore royalty company. Through subsidiary Hollinger-Hanna it holds a 15.10% equity interest in the Iron Ore Company of Canada, a 7% gross overriding royalty on IOC iron ore products, and a C$0.10-per-tonne commission on IOC production, plus mining leases near Labrador City.
Do Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio rate Labrador Iron Ore Royalty?
No public rating from Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio was found for Labrador Iron Ore Royalty as of September 2026, so this page relies on company filings and market data instead.