Is Obsidian Energy (OBE) halal?
Obsidian Energy (TSX/NYSE American: OBE) is a Calgary intermediate oil & gas producer with no haram business segment. But interest-bearing debt of ~C$354.9 million is about 35.1% of the ~C$1.01 billion market cap, above the ~33% ceiling. This screener is a FAIL on the debt gate.
The two-gate Shariah screen
Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).
Gate one: the business — passes
Obsidian Energy Ltd., based in Calgary (formerly Penn West Petroleum), is an intermediate oil & gas exploration-and-production company listed on the TSX and NYSE American. Assets: Peace River heavy oil (Clearwater, Bluesky) and the Willesden Green / Belly River area. The Belly River acquisition (Wilson Creek, Willesden Green) closed June 30, 2026 for ~C$98M including adjustments, adding ~2,500 boe/d (76% liquids), 35 net sections and 2P reserves of 13.6 MMboe. Q2 2026 production was 28,200 boe/d (72%+ liquids); September 2026 guidance put 2026 production at 28,500–29,500 boe/d, targeting 15%+ production growth in 2027. The Walrus advancement (integrated waterflood injector at the 6-20 Pad, Bluesky) is the current growth project. No haram business segments were found. The business gate passes.
Gate two: the ratios — debt fails
At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 results, reported July 30, 2026, all CAD): long-term debt of ~C$354.9 million = syndicated credit facility of C$184.0M + 8.125% senior unsecured notes due December 3, 2030 of C$175.0M, less C$4.1M of deferred financing costs. Net debt was C$353.6M; cash was ~C$0.2M (effectively an overdraft position). Lease liabilities are not separately disclosed. With ~66.8 million shares outstanding at ~C$15.11 (TSX close September 25, 2026), the market cap is about C$1.01 billion — debt is about 35.1% of market cap, above the ~33% ceiling, so it fails the debt gate. Post-quarter, a C$75M add-on to the 8.125% notes (C$250M total outstanding) was issued with proceeds repaying the facility, and the facility was increased by C$40M to C$275M in June 2026. The Q2 2026 release discloses no interest income line (financing expenses only) — the fail result rests on debt alone. Q2 2026 oil & gas sales were C$198.0M; net income was C$42.0M.
What other screeners say
No coverage pages for OBE/OBE.TO were found on Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio in targeted searches as of September 2026. This screener is based on Obsidian Energy's Q2 2026 financials.
The bottom line
This screener gives Obsidian Energy Ltd. (TSX/NYSE American: OBE) a FAIL. A clean oil & gas business, but debt at about 35.1% of market cap is over the ~33% ceiling — the post-quarter C$75M note add-on pushed the notes balance to C$250M total, so leverage is worth watching into Q3. Capital returns are going to buybacks, not dividends: the NCIB was renewed in March 2026 and ~18.9M shares (23%) have been cancelled since February 2023. Leadership is unchanged (Stephen Loukas, President & CEO; Peter Scott, CFO). Consult a qualified scholar. Snapshot dated September 29, 2026; re-checked quarterly after earnings.
Sources
- Q2 2026 results (Obsidian Energy, Newsfile, Jul 30, 2026)
- Operational & guidance update (Obsidian Energy, Newsfile, Sept 14, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
Is Obsidian Energy halal?
This screener gives it a FAIL. Obsidian Energy Ltd. (TSX/NYSE American: OBE) is a Calgary intermediate oil & gas producer with no haram business segment. But interest-bearing debt of ~C$354.9 million is about 35.1% of the ~C$1.01 billion market cap, above the ~33% ceiling, so it fails the debt gate. The Q2 2026 release discloses no interest income line (financing expenses only); lease liabilities are not separately disclosed. No coverage was found from Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio. Consult a qualified scholar.
What does Obsidian Energy do?
Obsidian Energy Ltd., based in Calgary (formerly Penn West Petroleum), is an intermediate oil & gas exploration-and-production company listed on the TSX and NYSE American. Assets: Peace River heavy oil (Clearwater, Bluesky) and the Willesden Green / Belly River area. The Belly River acquisition (Wilson Creek, Willesden Green) closed June 30, 2026 for ~C$98M including adjustments, adding ~2,500 boe/d (76% liquids), 35 net sections and 2P reserves of 13.6 MMboe. Q2 2026 production was 28,200 boe/d (72%+ liquids); September 2026 guidance put 2026 production at 28,500–29,500 boe/d, targeting 15%+ production growth in 2027. No haram business segments were found.
What are Obsidian Energy's debt and market-cap figures?
At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 results, reported July 30, 2026, all CAD): long-term debt of ~C$354.9 million = syndicated credit facility of C$184.0M + 8.125% senior unsecured notes due December 3, 2030 of C$175.0M, less C$4.1M of deferred financing costs. Net debt was C$353.6M; cash was ~C$0.2M (effectively an overdraft position). Lease liabilities are not separately disclosed. Post-quarter: a C$75M add-on to the 8.125% notes (C$250M total outstanding) was issued, with proceeds repaying the credit facility; in June 2026 the facility was increased by C$40M to C$275M (revolver to May 2027, maturity May 2028). With ~66.8 million shares outstanding at ~C$15.11 (TSX close September 25, 2026), the market cap is about C$1.01 billion — debt is about 35.1% of market cap, above the ~33% ceiling.
What do Zoya, Musaffa, and ShariaPortfolio say about OBE?
No coverage pages for OBE/OBE.TO were found on Zoya, Musaffa, or ShariaPortfolio in targeted searches as of September 2026. This screener is based on Obsidian Energy's Q2 2026 financials, not on a third-party rating.
What is the purification amount for Obsidian Energy's dividend?
Obsidian Energy has announced no dividend in 2026 (it is buying back shares instead — ~18.9M shares, 23%, cancelled since February 2023), so there is no dividend to purify. Use the purification calculator only if a distribution is announced.