Screened September 29, 2026 · TSX/NYSE: OVV · Q2 2026 results (July 23, 2026)

PASS*

Is Ovintiv (OVV) halal?

Ovintiv (TSX: OVV) is an oil and gas producer — a permissible business — with interest-bearing debt of about US$3,695 million, about 22.5% of its market cap. The screener is a provisional PASS*: Zoya rates OVV not Shariah-compliant as of September 2026 — its AAOIFI-based screen flags the financial ratios, not the business activity.

The two-gate Shariah screen

Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).

Gate one: the business — permissible oil and gas production

Ovintiv, based in Denver, Colorado, is a North American oil and gas exploration and production company with three segments: USA Operations, Canadian Operations, and Market Optimization. Its core plays are the Permian (231 MBOE/d, 78% liquids in Q2 2026) and the Montney (374 MBOE/d, 27% liquids); the Anadarko assets were sold in Q2 2026 for about US$2.82 billion in cash proceeds. Q2 2026 production averaged 615 MBOE/d. Pure E&P plus hydrocarbon marketing — no haram business segments, so the business gate passes.

Gate two: the ratios — the math clears, with a disclosed divergence

At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 results, July 23, 2026): long-term debt, including current portion, of US$3,695 million (all non-current; current portion US$0), with cash of US$700 million. Operating lease liabilities of US$1,223 million (US$105 million current plus US$1,118 million non-current) are reported separately and are not in the debt line. With a market cap of about US$16.45 billion (Finnhub, September 29, 2026; NYSE at US$58.67, TSX at C$83.20; 276.6 million shares), debt is about 22.5% of market cap — about 29.9% including the operating leases — both under the ~33% ceiling. Interest income is not separately disclosed in the Q2 2026 statements (only interest expense of US$100 million appears); Zoya's OVV page, based on the FY2025 annual report, shows US$0 of interest income on US$8,736 million of revenue. (Ovintiv reports in US dollars and is an SEC filer. The NuVista Energy acquisition closed February 3, 2026 — these are post-acquisition consolidated figures.)

What other screeners say

Zoya covers Ovintiv and rates it not Shariah-compliant as of September 2026 — its AAOIFI-based screen flags the debt and financial ratios, not the business activity. No coverage pages for OVV were found on Musaffa or ShariaPortfolio in targeted searches. This site's own ratio math clears (about 22.5% debt-to-market-cap), which is why this screener is a provisional PASS* rather than a full PASS: a qualified scholar should weigh the divergence.

The bottom line

This screener gives Ovintiv (TSX: OVV) a provisional PASS*. A permissible oil and gas business with debt at about 22.5% of market cap — but Zoya's AAOIFI-based screen rates OVV not Shariah-compliant, flagging the financial ratios. Consult a qualified scholar. Snapshot dated September 29, 2026; re-checked quarterly after earnings.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Is Ovintiv halal?

This screener gives it a provisional PASS*. Ovintiv (TSX: OVV) is an oil and gas producer — a permissible business — with interest-bearing debt of about US$3,695 million, about 22.5% of its market cap (under the ~33% ceiling). The screener is provisional because Zoya rates OVV not Shariah-compliant as of September 2026 — its AAOIFI-based screen flags the financial ratios, not the business activity. Consult a qualified scholar.

Why is Ovintiv's screener provisional?

The ratio math on this site's two-gate screen clears: Q2 2026 long-term debt of US$3,695 million against a market cap of about US$16.45 billion is about 22.5% (about 29.9% including operating lease liabilities), under the ~33% ceiling, and interest income is not separately disclosed in the Q2 2026 statements (Zoya's FY2025-based data shows US$0 of interest income on US$8,736 million of revenue). But Zoya rates OVV not Shariah-compliant as of September 2026 — its AAOIFI-based screen flags the financial ratios. The divergence is disclosed here; a qualified scholar should weigh it.

What are Ovintiv's debt and market-cap figures?

At June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026 results, July 23, 2026): long-term debt, including current portion, of US$3,695 million (all non-current; current portion US$0), with cash of US$700 million. Operating lease liabilities of US$1,223 million (US$105 million current plus US$1,118 million non-current) are reported separately and are not in the debt line. Market cap is about US$16.45 billion (Finnhub, September 29, 2026; NYSE at US$58.67, TSX at C$83.20; 276.6 million shares). Debt is about 22.5% of market cap; about 29.9% including the operating leases. Ovintiv reports in US dollars and is an SEC filer. The NuVista Energy acquisition closed February 3, 2026 — these are post-acquisition consolidated figures.

What does Ovintiv do?

Ovintiv, based in Denver, Colorado, is a North American oil and gas exploration and production company with three segments: USA Operations, Canadian Operations, and Market Optimization. Its core plays are the Permian (231 MBOE/d, 78% liquids in Q2 2026) and the Montney (374 MBOE/d, 27% liquids); the Anadarko assets were sold in Q2 2026 for about US$2.82 billion in cash proceeds. Q2 2026 production averaged 615 MBOE/d. Pure E&P plus hydrocarbon marketing — no haram business segments, so the business gate passes.

What do Zoya, Musaffa, and ShariaPortfolio say about OVV?

Zoya covers Ovintiv and rates it not Shariah-compliant as of September 2026 — its AAOIFI-based screen flags the debt and financial ratios, not the business activity. No coverage pages for OVV were found on Musaffa or ShariaPortfolio in targeted searches.