Is Vermilion Energy / VET Halal?
Vermilion Energy Inc. (TSX: VET), headquartered in Calgary, is an international oil and natural gas producer (Q2 2026 production 125,789 boe/d, 71% natural gas, across Canada, France, the Netherlands, Germany, Ireland and Australia). The business has no verified haram lines — but long-term debt of ~C$1.31 billion is ~52% of the ~C$2.50 billion market cap (~55% including leases), far above the ceiling, and Musaffa independently classifies VET as not halal. FAIL.
The two-gate Shariah screen
Every screener on this site runs the same two gates: first, the business must be halal (no conventional insurance, banking, alcohol, gambling, weapons manufacturing, and the like); second, the financial ratios must clear (debt under roughly 33% of market cap, non-compliant income under roughly 5%).
Gate one: the business — passes
Vermilion's continuing operations are oil and natural gas exploration, development and production — in Canada (light oil and liquids-rich gas; Deep Basin, West Pembina, Mica/Montney), France, the Netherlands, Germany (first production at Wisselshorst in July 2026), Ireland and Australia. Its former United States assets were sold (closed July 31, 2025) and are classified as discontinued operations. Revenue comes essentially from the production and sale of petroleum and natural gas. No verified involvement in weapons/defence, gambling, alcohol, tobacco, pork or adult entertainment was found. Gate one: passes.
Gate two: the ratios — debt fails decisively
The debt gate fails. As at June 30, 2026 (in Canadian dollars): non-current long-term debt ~C$1,308.3 million + current lease liabilities ~C$7.6 million + non-current lease obligations ~C$46.8 million = total debt about C$1,362.7 million. Market cap is about C$2.50 billion (C$16.36 TSX close on September 28, 2026 × about 152.9 million shares) — putting long-term debt alone at ~52.3% of market cap (~54.5% including leases), far above the ~33% ceiling. Interest income is not disclosed as a standalone line — the income statement reports interest expense only (C$26.1 million in Q2) — so no figure is published here. The FAIL is independently supported by the debt gate. Gate two: fails on debt.
What other screeners say
Musaffa covers VET and classifies it as not halal as of September 2026 (https://musaffa.com/stock/VET/). No Zoya or ShariaPortfolio rating could be verified.
The bottom line
This screener gives Vermilion Energy Inc. (TSX: VET) a FAIL. The oil-and-gas business has no verified haram lines, but long-term debt of ~C$1.31 billion (~52% of market cap, ~55% with leases) decisively fails the debt gate. Snapshot dated September 29, 2026; re-checked quarterly after earnings.
The purification angle: if you hold VET anyway, run the purification calculator to estimate any non-compliant share of dividends or gains.
Frequently asked questions
Is Vermilion Energy stock halal?
This screener gives Vermilion Energy Inc. (TSX: VET) a FAIL. The Calgary oil-and-gas producer (Q2 2026 production 125,789 boe/d, 71% natural gas, across Canada, France, the Netherlands, Germany, Ireland and Australia) has no verified haram business lines — but long-term debt of ~C$1.31 billion is about 52% of the ~C$2.50 billion market cap (~55% including leases), far above the ~33% ceiling. Musaffa independently classifies VET as not halal as of September 2026.
What are Vermilion Energy's debt and market-cap figures?
As at June 30, 2026 (Q2 2026, in Canadian dollars): non-current long-term debt ~C$1,308.3 million + current lease liabilities ~C$7.6 million + non-current lease obligations ~C$46.8 million = total debt about C$1,362.7 million (company-defined net debt C$1.224 billion, down ~C$840 million over 15 months). Market cap is about C$2.50 billion (C$16.36 TSX close on September 28, 2026 × about 152.9 million shares). The ratio is about 52.3% excluding leases and about 54.5% including them — far above the ~33% ceiling.
Does Vermilion Energy earn interest income?
Interest income is not disclosed as a standalone line. The Q2 2026 income statement reports interest expense only (C$26.1 million in Q2, C$52.8 million for the half-year) — an expense line — with no finance-income or interest-income revenue line, so no figure is published here. The FAIL rests independently on the debt gate.
Do any third-party screeners cover Vermilion Energy?
Musaffa covers VET and classifies it as not halal as of September 2026 (https://musaffa.com/stock/VET/). No Zoya or ShariaPortfolio rating could be verified.
What could change Vermilion Energy's halal screener?
Vermilion's debt paydown track record is material: company-defined net debt fell ~C$840 million over the prior 15 months. If debt-to-market-cap falls below roughly a third, the debt gate could change. This screener is a snapshot dated September 29, 2026 and is re-checked quarterly after earnings.