Tool test · Same inputs, five calculators

5 Zakat Calculators Compared With the Same Portfolio. Here's What We Found.

Zakat math is simple — 2.5% — so why do five calculators give different answers for the same portfolio? We fed one identical test case into five real, currently-available zakat calculators and traced every dollar of difference back to a methodology choice: which nisab metal, which assets count, and how stocks get measured.

Updated September 2026 · 9-minute read · Reviewed by the Canadian Halal Investor team

Our verdict

The 2.5% arithmetic never differs — the inputs do. Three of the five calculators returned exactly $1,000 on our test case because they all compute 2.5% of the net assets you enter. The other two returned less, not because their math is different, but because they measure stocks differently: by the company's underlying liquid assets (Zoya, NZF Canada's long-term method) instead of full market value.

Best for: quick annual calculation on cash, gold, and straightforward investments → Islamic Relief Canada or Muslim Hands Canada. Investors who want their stock holdings measured by company balance sheets, not market price → Zoya. Canadians with RRSP/TFSA/RESP questions → NZF Canada's guidance-backed flow.

Skip if: you expect any calculator to settle a scholarly question for you — none of them do. See the FAQ.

The test case: one portfolio, five calculators

To make this a fair test, we defined a single standard portfolio and entered it into each calculator the way that calculator asks for it:

At full market value, the baseline is trivial: $40,000 × 2.5% = $1,000. Any deviation from $1,000 below is therefore a methodology story, not an arithmetic one — and that's exactly what we wanted to surface. We report what each tool computes; methodology choices differ between tools, and describing those differences is factual reporting, not a ruling on which is correct.

Facts only, no fatwas. Zakat calculators compute — they don't rule. Every figure below is what the tool outputs for our test case and the methodology the tool documents. Which methodology you follow is between you and a qualified scholar.

The results: same inputs, different outputs

CalculatorTest-case outputWhy it differs
Zoya (in-app zakat tool)Below $1,000 — varies by holdingPrices stocks on each company's underlying zakatable (liquid) assets from balance sheets, not full market value; separates short-term vs long-term holdings
Islamic Relief Canada$1,000Straight 2.5% of entered net assets at full value; silver nisab default ($2,112.64)
NZF Canada$1,000 on full-value entry; lower under its long-term stock methodCalculator takes entered values at 2.5%; its published guidance also offers a balance-sheet method for long-term holdings (cash + receivables + inventory per share)
Islamicly (in-app)Not tested end-to-end — outputs described from public feature listMarkets a combined zakat + purification calculator for mixed-income stocks: outputs a zakat amount plus a separate purification amount ("know exactly how much to donate from non-compliant dividends"). No public detail on inputs or methodology.
Muslim Hands Canada$1,000Straight 2.5% of entered net assets at full value; shows both gold ($17,046.35) and silver ($1,806.46) nisab on the page

Three observations from running the test:

Side-by-side comparison

ZoyaIslamic Relief CanadaNZF CanadaIslamiclyMuslim Hands Canada
Asset categories coveredStocks/ETFs (import or manual), cashCash, gold, silver, savings, business assets, liabilitiesCash, gold/silver, investments, business, debts owed to you, liabilitiesStocks, purification amountsCash, gold, silver, savings, investments, business value, debts
Nisab basisBuilt-in threshold check (metal basis not stated in public materials)✓ Silver default ($2,112.64); gold shown too ($17,732.20, May 2026)Gold-based per guidance pagesNot stated in public feature list✓ Both shown on-page: gold $17,046.35 / silver $1,806.46
Methodology transparency✓ Documents the balance-sheet method publicly✓ Explains silver-vs-gold choice and Hanafi preference✓ Extensive FAQ: stocks, business, jewelry, missed zakatFeature-level description onlyStandard explainer + live nisab values
Retirement-account handlingVia holdings importGeneral investment guidance✓ Dedicated RRSP/TFSA/RESP guidance (RRSP net of withdrawal tax)Via holdingsGeneral investment guidance
Ease of use✓ Best for stock investors (import + auto)✓ Simplest web formGood; FAQ-heavyIn-app✓ Simple web form with live nisab

The retirement-account question

The $25,000 TFSA in our test case is where calculators — and investors — hesitate most. Here's what the tools and their publishers actually say:

Our halal investing in Canada guide covers zakat on investments in more depth, and what halal investing is explains the screening side. For the screening tool behind Zoya's numbers, see our Zoya review.

FAQ

Which zakat calculator is most accurate?

"Accuracy" here means methodology transparency, not arithmetic — every calculator multiplies by 2.5% correctly. The real question is whether its inputs match the methodology you follow. Zoya is the most sophisticated for stock investors (balance-sheet-based measurement, short/long-term split). NZF Canada has the deepest published methodology (stocks, business, jewelry, retirement accounts, missed zakat). Islamic Relief Canada and Muslim Hands Canada are the simplest correct implementations of the standard calculation. Pick the one whose documented method matches your scholar's guidance.

Gold vs silver nisab — why does it matter?

Nisab is the wealth threshold above which zakat becomes obligatory: the value of 87.48g of gold or 612.36g of silver. Because silver is far cheaper per gram, the silver nisab is much lower — around $1,800–2,100 in 2026 versus roughly $17,000–17,700 for gold. A lower threshold means more people owe zakat. Islamic Relief Canada defaults to silver (noting the Hanafi preference that more wealth gets purified); other schools use gold. Our test case clears both, so the choice didn't change our outputs — but for smaller portfolios it's the single biggest swing factor.

Do I pay zakat on TFSA and RRSP holdings?

Per NZF Canada's published guidance: generally yes, because you have access to the funds — count them at their value on your zakat date, and for RRSPs use the net amount after the withdrawal tax you'd owe. TFSAs count at full accessible value. This is factual reporting of their published methodology; which opinion you follow is a scholarly matter, not something a calculator decides.

Can a zakat calculator replace a scholar?

No. A calculator implements one methodology's arithmetic; it can't tell you which methodology to follow, handle edge cases (mixed assets, changing intentions, complex business structures), or issue rulings. The tools we tested are computation aids. As NZF Canada itself puts it: for specific situations, ask a qualified scholar. Facts and methodology only — no fatwas.

How often should I calculate zakat?

Once per lunar year (hawl) — the anniversary of when your wealth first reached nisab. Many people anchor it to Ramadan for simplicity. The calculators don't track this for you (except insofar as you re-run them); set your own annual reminder and use your portfolio values on that date.

Affiliate disclosure. This page contains no affiliate links. Our revenue comes from brokerage reviews elsewhere on this site; commissions never influence our scores or rankings, and every product is Shariah-screened before review. Nothing on this site is financial advice.